Commemoration of the 25th Anniversary of the Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda

With the 25th anniversary of the 1994 Genocide Against the Tutsi in Rwanda being observed this April, the New York City Bar Association and Genocide Survivors Foundation have partnered together for this commemoration to honor the memory of victims of genocide and the courage of survivors. The program focused on post-genocide justice issues, with the overall aim of examining what the world can do to prevent future genocides.

Albert Gasake, survivor of the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi in Rwanda. Served with the Rwanda Bar Association as an attorney specializing in criminal law and reparation for genocide victims, and as a legal officer at the international charity, Survivors Fund, where he advocated for survivors welfare and rights to reparative justice.
Zachary D. Kaufman, J.D., Ph.D., Lecturer in Law and Fellow at Stanford Law School, and a Senior Fellow at Harvard University’s John F. Kennedy School of Government. Author or editor of three books: United States Law and Policy on Transitional Justice: Principles, Politics, and Pragmatics; Social Entrepreneurship in the Age of Atrocities: Changing Our World; and After Genocide: Transitional Justice, Post-Conflict Reconstruction, and Reconciliation in Rwanda and Beyond.
Simone Monasebian, Current Director of the UN Office on Drugs and Crime, New York Office. Served as Trial Attorney at the UN International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda. 
Jacqueline Murekatete, internationally-recognized genocide survivor and human rights activist. Founder of Genocide Survivors Foundation, a not-for-profit organization, whose mission is to prevent genocide and other mass atrocity crimes, as well as to support survivors.

Dr. Simon Adams, Executive Director of the Global Centre for the Responsibility to Protect, and author of four books on international conflict.

Sponsoring Association Committee:
African Affairs Committee, Victoria L. Safran, Chair

Co-Sponsoring Association Committees:
Council on International Affairs Committee, Michael D. Cooper, Chair
International Human Rights Committee, Lauren Melkus, Chair
United Nations Committee, Simon O’Connor

Co-Sponsoring Organization:
Genocide Survivors Foundation

Sponsored By: