Press Releases

Fordham University School of Law Wins National Moot Court Competition – University of Memphis School of Law Places Second

Left to right: Hon. Hector Gonzalez, Hon. Rosalyn Richter, Hon. Arun Subramanian, Joseph Orlando, Deisy Abarca-Espiritu, Blake Elwood (behind cup), Makayla Ashe, Hon. Caitlin Halligan, William J. Murphy and Susan Kohlmann. Photo credit: Stephanie Glazer

Fordham University School of Law won the final round of the 74th Annual National Moot Court Competition, held January 31 at the New York City Bar Association. The winning team was comprised of Deisy Abarca-Espiritu, Joseph Orlando and Blake Elwood and was coached by Makayla Ashe. University of Memphis School of Law was the runner-up, with a team comprised of Thomas Fletcher, Kelsey McClain and Derrick Shawver 

Best Brief honors went to University of Memphis School of Law, with Runner-Up Best Briefs awarded to both University of Iowa College of Law and University of Illinois College of Law 

Best Oralist in the Final Round was Joseph Orlando of Fordham University School of Law. Runner-Up Best Oralist in the Final Round was Kelsey McClain of University of Memphis School of Law 

The final round was judged by Susan J. Kohlmann, President, New York City Bar Association; William J. Murphy, President, American College of Trial Lawyers; Hon. Caitlin Halligan, New York State Court of Appeals; Hon. Arun Subramanian, United States District Court, SDNY; Hon. Hector Gonzalez, United States District Court, EDNY and Hon. Rosalyn Richter, New York State Supreme Court, Appellate Term, 1st Department (Ret).  

The competitors in this year’s tournament were confronted with two issues: The first deals with a question of personal jurisdiction over a foreign resident, and the second on whether social media posts about a crypto asset security give rise to liability under the Securities Act of 1933.  

The final argument was the culmination of more than six months of preparation and arguments by 132 teams from over 105 law schools across the country. The top two teams from each of the 12 regional competitions advanced to the final rounds.  

The Competition is co-sponsored by the American College of Trial Lawyers and the National Moot Court Competition Committee of the New York City Bar Association, co-chaired by Alina Artunian and Heidi Goldsmith.