The Destiny of Democracy: We Shall Overcome Commemorating the 50th Anniversary of the Landmark Voting Rights Act of 1965

Keynote: Fred Gray, Veteran Civil Rights Attorney

Moderator: Linda Greenhouse, Knight Distinguished Journalist in Residence and Joseph M. Goldstein Senior Fellow, Yale Law School

Speakers: Marcia Johnson Blanco, Co-Director, Voting Rights Project Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law; Wayne Dawkins, Associate Professor, School of Journalism and Communications, Hampton University; Eric Rodriguez, Vice President, Office of Research, Advocacy, and Legislation, National Council of La Raza (NCLR); Myrna Pérez, Deputy Director, Brennan Center’s Democracy Program; Janai Nelson, Associate Director-Counsel NAACP Legal Defense and Educational Fund, Inc.

Co-sponsored by: Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law; New York State Bar Association