Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award Winners

The Diversity and Inclusion Champion Award, created in 2006, seeks to applaud individuals whose actions and activities embody the Statement of Diversity Principles. The award recognizes the critical role individuals have played in initiating and sustaining change in their organizations and the overall New York legal community. The award recipients embody the New York City Bar’s Statement of Diversity Principles, which defines diversity as an inclusive concept, encompassing race, color, ethnicity, gender, sexual orientation, gender identity and expression, religion, nationality, age, disability and marital and parental status.

The New York City Bar Association presents the Diversity & Inclusion Champion Awards at its Annual Diversity and Inclusion Celebration Dinner in June.

Criteria, Nominations & FAQs

The 2019 Diversity & Inclusion Celebration Dinner will take place on Wednesday, June 26.

To register, please visit the event page.



2019 Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award Winners

Juan Arteaga
Partner, Crowell & Moring LLP

Lisa Linksy
Partner, McDermott Will & Emery LLP

2019 Press Release



2018 Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award Winners

Sheila Kearney Davidson
Executive Vice President, Chief Legal Officer, and General Counsel, New York Life Insurance Company

John Mbiti
Director & Counsel, Credit Suisse Asset Management LLC

Susan L. Shin
Partner, Arnold & Porter

2018 Award Winners' Bios

2018 Press Release

2018 Celebration Dinner Photos



2017 Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award Winners

Ricardo A. Anzaldua
Executive Vice President & General Counsel, MetLife, Inc.

Zachary W. Carter
Corporation Counsel, New York City Law Department

Carmelyn P. Malalis
Chair & Commissioner, New York City Commission on Human Rights

Richard E. Meade
VP, Chief Legal Officer - International, Prudential

2017 Award Winners' Bios



2016 Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award Winners

Dennis C. Hopkins
Partner, Perkins Coie LLP

Hon. Rosalyn Richter
Associate Justice, New York State Supreme Court, Appellate Division, First Department

Conway S. Ekpo & Joseph A. Tillman
Founding members of 1844



2015 Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award Winners 

Kathy Hirata Chin
Partner, Cadwalader Wickersham & Taft LLP

Hon. Fern Fisher
Deputy Chief Administrative Judge, New York City Courts and Director, New York State Courts Access to Justice Program

Darryl Gibbs
Lead Director and Associate General Counsel, AXA Equitable Life Insurance Company

Taa Grays
Assistant General Counsel and Chief of Staff to the General Counsel, MetLife


2014 Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award Winners

Michelle J. Anderson
Dean, CUNY School of Law

Joseph M. Drayton
Partner, Cooley LLP

Natalia Martín & Karla G. Sanchez
Co-founders, "Cafecitos Network"



2013 Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award Winners

Larry Chanen
Senior Vice President and Associate General Counsel, JPMorgan Chase

Read profile

Asim Rehman
President, Muslim Bar Association of New York & Corporate Counsel, MetLife, Inc.

Read profile

Alita T. Wingfield
Executive Director, Morgan Stanley

Read profile


2012 Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award Winners

Steven Banks
Attorney-in-Chief, The Legal Aid Society

Read profile

Eric J. Friedman
Executive Partner, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP

Read profile

Don H. Liu
Senior Vice President, General Counsel & Secretary, Xerox Corporation

Read profile

Lorraine S. McGowen
Partner, Orrick, Herrington & Sutcliffe LLP

Read profile



2011 Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award Winners

Sheila S. Boston 
Partner, Kaye Scholer LLP

Read profile

Vincent T. Chang
Partner, Wollmuth Maher & Deutsch LLP

Read profile

S. Jeanine Conley 
Partner, Baker & Hostetler LLP

Read profile

Andrew T. Hahn, Sr.  
Partner, Duane Morris LLP

Read profile



2010 Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award Winners

George Cheeks & Andra Shapiro
Executive Vice-Presidents, Co-General Counsels, MTV Networks

Read profile

Duane L. Hughes
Executive Director, Morgan Stanley

Read profile

Marissa C. Wesely
Partner, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett LLP

Read profile



2009 Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award Winners

LaShann DeArcy
Associate, Gibson Dunn & Crutcher LLP

Read profile

Hon. Charles J. Hynes
Kings County District Attorney

Read profile

James R. Silkenat
Partner, Arent Fox LLP

Read profile



2008 Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award Winners

Michael A. Cardozo
Corporation Counsel, New York City Law Department

Read profile

Hon. Juanita Bing Newton
Deputy Chief Administrative Judge for Justice Initiatives; Administrative Judge, Criminal Court of the City of New York

Read profile

James B. O’Neal
Co-Founder & Executive Director, Legal Outreach, Inc.

Read profile



2007 Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award Winners

Sharon Y. Bowen
Partner, Latham & Watkins LLP

Read profile

Laurie N. Robinson
Assistant General Counsel, CBS Broadcasting Inc.

Read profile

Zakiyyah T. Salim
Associate, Heller Ehrman LLP

Read profile

Hon. John E.H. Stackhouse
Judge, New York Supreme Court

Read profile



2006 Diversity & Inclusion Champion Award Winners

Hon. Daniel M. Donovan, Jr
District Attorney, Richmond County

Read profile

William Malpica
Associate, Mayer, Brown, Rowe & Maw LLP

Read profile

Elizabeth D. Moore
Partner, Nixon Peabody LLP

Read profile