Press Releases

The NYC Bar Association Announces the 2008 Kathryn A. McDonald Award Winners

Media Advisory
May 1, 2008

Oroma Mpi, 212-382-6713


The NYC Bar Association Announces the
2008 Kathryn A. McDonald Award Winners

New York, NY—The New York City Bar Association today announced the winners of this year’s Kathryn A. McDonald Awards, which are presented annually for excellence in service to the Family Court. This year’s honorees, Jennifer C. Friedman, Esq. and Margaret O’Marra, LCSW, have dedicated their abilities and leadership skills throughout their careers to the Family Court and the population that it serves.

Friedman is the Founder and Director of the Courtroom Advocates Project at Sanctuary for Families. O’Marra currently serves as the Social Work Supervisor for the Juvenile Rights Division of The Legal Aid Society.

Friedman and O’Marra will receive their awards at a City Bar reception honoring New York City Family Court Judges on May 6th at 6pm. Chief Judge Judith S. Kaye of the New York Court of Appeals will present the awards.

The award presentation will be preceded by a program recognizing the work of three retiring Family Court judges: Hon. Guy DePhillips; Hon. Rhea G. Friedman; and Hon. Sara P. Schecter.

The Kathryn A. McDonald Award is named in honor of the former Supervising Judge of the New York City Family Court and is sponsored by the City Bar’s Committees on Children and the Law; Family Court and Family Law; Juvenile Justice; and its Council on Children.

About the Association
The New York City Bar Association ( was founded in 1870, and since then has been dedicated to maintaining the high ethical standards of the profession, promoting reform of the law, and providing service to the profession and the public. The Association continues to work for political, legal and social reform, while implementing innovative means to help the disadvantaged. Protecting the public’s welfare remains one of the Association’s highest priorities.


back to top