Press Releases

New York City Bar Announces Winners of 23rd Annual Stimson Medal Awards


Eric Friedman
(212) 382-6754

Kathryn Inman
(212) 382-6656

New York City Bar Announces Winners of 23rd Annual Stimson Medal Awards

New York, May 27, 2015 – The New York City Bar Association has announced the winners of the 2015 Henry L. Stimson Medal Awards, honoring outstanding Assistant U.S. attorneys from the Southern and Eastern Districts.

This year’s medal recipients are John Vagelatos (Civil Division) and Zainab Ahmad (Criminal Division) of the Eastern District, along with Rebecca Cummings Martin (Civil Division) and Brendan McGuire (Criminal Division) of the Southern District.

The honorees will receive their awards at the City Bar on Tuesday, June 2nd at 6 p.m. Mark R. Hellerer serves as chair of the City Bar’s Stimson Medal Committee and will be the ceremony moderator. Hon. Raymond J. Lohier, Jr., United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, will provide keynote remarks, and the medals will be presented by Association President Debra L. Raskin.

The medal is awarded in honor of Henry L. Stimson, who served as U.S. attorney for the Southern District from 1906–1909 and as President of the Association from 1937–1939.

About the Association
The New York City Bar Association, since its founding in 1870, has been dedicated to maintaining the high ethical standards of the legal profession, promoting reform of the law and access to justice, and providing service to the profession and the public. The Association, through its 24,000 members, continues to work for political, legal and social reform, while implementing innovative means to help the disadvantaged. Protecting the public’s welfare remains one of the Association’s highest priorities.