Press Releases

LMU Loyola Law School, Los Angeles, Wins National Moot Court Competition; Texas Tech University School of Law Places Second

LMU Loyola Law School, Los Angeles, won the final round of the 71st Annual National Moot Court Competition held February 4. The winning team was comprised of Sierra TeNyenhuis, Jillian LeMaster-Dwyer and Alexandro Garza. Texas Tech University School of Law was the runner-up, with a team comprised of Sara Baumgardner, Sarah Jo Lambert and William Langford.
Best Brief honors went to Chicago Kent College of Law with Runner-Up Best Brief awarded to Loyola Law School, Los Angeles.

Best Oralist in the Final Round was Jillian LeMaster-Dwyer. Runner-Up Best Oralist in the Final Round was William Langford.

The final round was judged by Sheila S. Boston, President, New York City Bar Association; Rodney Acker, President, American College of Trial Lawyers; Hon. Denny Chin, U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit; Hon. Ann Donnelly, United States District Court, EDNY; Hon. Paul Feinman, New York State Court of Appeals and Hon. Katharine Parker, Magistrate Judge, U.S. District Court, SDNY.

This year’s problem addressed legal issues raised by an ongoing pandemic: The potential for health insurance companies to sue the makers of fraudulent drugs under RICO, the latitude given government agencies to conduct warrantless searches in the name of public health, and the application of Qualified Immunity if those agencies go too far.

The final argument was the culmination of more than six months of preparation and arguments by 150 teams from over 110 law schools across the country. The top 29 teams from around the country advanced to the final rounds.

The Competition is co-sponsored by the American College of Trial Lawyers and the National Moot Court Competition Committee of the New York City Bar Association.

*Also pictured above: Alina Artunian-Giles, Chair, National Moot Court Competition Committee; Daniel Rothschild, Member, National Moot Court Competition Committee; Stephanie Glazer, Manager of Committee Membership Services