Press Releases

City Bar to Honor Outstanding Assistant U.S. Attorneys with Henry L. Stimson Medal

The New York City Bar Association will hold the 26th Annual Henry L. Stimson Medal Presentation, honoring four outstanding Assistant United States Attorneys from the Southern and Eastern Districts of New York, on June 6, 2018, at 6:00 p.m. A reception will follow, with prior winners in attendance.

This year’s medal recipients are Lawrence H. Fogelman, S.D.NY. Civil Division; Joan Loughnane, S.D.NY. Criminal Division; F. Franklin Amanat, E.D.NY. Civil Division; and M. Kristin Mace, E.D.NY. Criminal Division.

Hon. Debra A. Livingston, United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, will give the keynote address. City Bar President Roger Juan Maldonado will present the medals. Mark R. Hellerer, Chair of the City Bar’s Stimson Medal Committee, will moderate.

The medal is awarded in honor of Henry L. Stimson, who served as United States Attorney for the Southern District from 1906–1909 and as President of the City Bar from 1937–1939. The awards are made possible by the generosity of the firm of Pillsbury Winthrop Shaw Pittman, Henry Stimson’s legacy firm.

Prior recipients have gone on to accomplish additional significant achievements in the public and private sector:

  • One of the medal’s first recipients, James Comey, served as U.S. Attorney, Deputy Attorney General of the United States and Director of the FBI.
  • Leslie Caldwell served as Head of the Enron Task Force and as the Assistant Attorney General in charge of the Criminal Division at the U.S. Department of Justice.
  • Richard Weber was Chief of the IRS Criminal Investigation Division and Robert Khuzami was formerly the head of the Enforcement Division of the Securities and Exchange Commission. He is now the Deputy U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of New York.
  • Patrick Fitzgerald became the United States Attorney in Chicago and prosecuted the “Scooter” Libby case as U.S. Special Counsel.  
  • Richard Donoghue has recently been appointed as the U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of New York.
  • Recent winners Andrew Goldstein and Zainab Ahmad are currently members of the Mueller Special Counsel team, along with Greg D. Andres.
  • Other winners, Richard Sullivan, Cathy Seibel, Paul Gardephe and Valerie Caproni have become judges on the Southern District Court, while Sean Lane serves as a Bankruptcy Judge. James Cott and Cheryl Pollack serve as magistrate judges.
  • Still other winners have gone on to serve as U.S. Attorney or to hold other high-level positions in the Department of Justice, the Federal Bureau of Investigation and with the New York State Attorney General.


About the Association
The New York City Bar Association, since its founding in 1870, has been dedicated to maintaining the high ethical standards of the legal profession, promoting reform of the law and access to justice, and providing service to the profession and the public. The Association, through its 24,000 members, continues to work for political, legal and social reform, while implementing innovative means to help the disadvantaged. Protecting the public’s welfare remains one of the Association’s highest priorities.