Overview & Hours

Library

The Library of the New York City Bar Association is a nationally recognized research facility and is among the largest member-supported law libraries in the United States.

Library Hours:

Monday – Friday              9:00 a.m. – 5:00 p.m.


Holiday Schedule 2021 (the House and Library will be closed) 

New Year’s Day - Friday, January 1, 2021

Martin Luther King, Jr. Day - Monday, January 18, 2021

President's Day - Monday, February 15, 2021

Memorial Day - Early closing at 2:00 pm on Friday, May 28. Closed Monday, May 31, 2021

Juneteenth (observed) - Friday, June 18, 2021

Independence Day (observed) - Monday, July 5, 2021

Labor Day - Early closing at 2:00 pm on Friday, September 3. Closed Monday, September 6, 2021

Day Before Thanksgiving - Early closing at 2:00 pm on Wednesday, November 24, 2021

Thanksgiving - Thursday, November 25 and Friday, November 26, 2021

Christmas Eve - Friday, December 24, 2021

Christmas/New Years - Monday, December 27, 2021 through Friday, December 31, 2021 (reopen Monday, January 3, 2022)

The City Bar's Library has an extensive collection of current and early edition treatises, current and superseded statutes Libraryfor Federal and all state jurisdictions, case reporters, and law reviews. The library also contains a comprehensive collection of U.S. and New York State appellate court briefs and records on appeal.

The library provides significant electronic research resources for members without charge. Both Lexis and Westlaw are available, with access to federal and all states statutes, cases, administrative decisions, and most New York treatise material. A broad range of forms and many law journals and reviews can also be retrieved. All of the library computers include links to HeinOnline, a massive, imaged database of law reviews and journals, to search, download, read and print. Several CCH reporters are also supported in electronic format.

In addition, the library supports limited remote access for small law firms and solo practitioners through the City Bar's homepage. Members can search and download a subset of Westlaw forms (including McKinney's Forms and New York Forms: Legal and Business), Casemaker, HeinOnline and LLMC Digital, a database of historic federal, state, legal and foreign material.

Our knowledgeable reference librarians assist more than 2,000 visitors to the library every month. The professional staff is thoroughly familiar with the library's collection and is prepared to direct you to appropriate sources - print or electronic - and assist in formulating research strategies. To reach the reference desk call (212) 382-6666.

Lexis Nexis

The City Bar gratefully acknowledges the support of LexisNexis in providing online research services to the staff of the Association.