New York City Bar Association Announces 2018 Kathryn A. McDonald Award Winners

The New York City Bar Association has announced the winners of this year’s Kathryn A. McDonald Awards, which are presented annually for excellence in service to the Family Court.

This year’s honorees are Jane Spinak, Edward Ross Aranow Clinical Professor of Law, Columbia Law School; Dionne Lowery, New York City Family Court; and Janet Neustaetter, The Children’s Law Center.

The awards will be presented at a City Bar reception on Wednesday, May 30 at 6:00 p.m., by Hon. Janet DiFiore, Chief Judge, New York State Court of Appeals. The reception also honors the judges of the New York City Family Court for their dedicated work. 

The Kathryn A. McDonald Award is named in honor of the former Supervising Judge of the New York City Family Court and is sponsored by the City Bar’s Committees on Children and the Law; Family Court and Family Law; Juvenile Justice; Domestic Violence and its Council on Children.

About the Association
The New York City Bar Association, since its founding in 1870, has been dedicated to maintaining the high ethical standards of the legal profession, promoting reform of the law and access to justice, and providing service to the profession and the public. The Association, through its 24,000 members, continues to work for political, legal and social reform, while implementing innovative means to help the disadvantaged. Protecting the public’s welfare remains one of the Association’s highest priorities.