John S. Kiernan Becomes City Bar’s President as Association Announces New Leadership

The New York City Bar Association has announced the results of its annual election to fill its leadership positions:

John S. Kiernan, Debevoise & Plimpton LLP, has been elected the 67thPresident of the City Bar. He is a partner at the law firm of Debevoise & Plimpton and has been Co-Chair of the firm’s Litigation Department since 2002 and Chair of its Ethics Committee since 1994. At the City Bar, he has served on the Executive Committee and chaired several committees, and was on the Board of Directors of the City Bar Fund.

Sheila S. Boston, Kaye Scholer LLP; Hallie Levin, Friedman Kaplan Seiler & Adelman LLP; and Roger Maldonado, Balber Pickard Maldonado & Van Der Tuin PC, will serve as the City Bar’s three Vice Presidents.

Ira Feinberg, of Hogan Lovells US LLP, is the Association Secretary.Damian Schaible, of Davis Polk & Wardwell LLP, returns as Treasurer.

The Executive Committee Class of 2020 is: Joseph M. Drayton, Cooley LLP; Mei Lin Kwan-Gett, Citigroup; Hon. Andrea Masley, NY State Supreme Court; and Rebecca Lynn Mendel, Rosin Steinhagen Mendel.

Elizabeth Donoghue, Himmelstein McConnell Gribben Donoghue & Joseph, will serve as Chair of the Executive Committee and Muhammad Faridi, Patterson Belknap Webb & Tyler LLP, will serve as Secretary of the Executive Committee.

The City Bar’s Executive Committee consists of 16 elected members and six officers (who are ex officio members). The elected members of the Executive Committee are divided into four classes of four members each, with each class holding office for four years.

In keeping with the City Bar’s diversity objectives, of the 22 members, 12 are male and 10 are female; and 50% (11 of the 22) are from historically underrepresented groups.

View the officers and members of the Executive Committee here.