Hofstra Wins Regional Moot Court Competition at City Bar

Hofstra University School of Law, represented by Melissa Danowski, Jesse Goldberg and Jessica Miller, won the regional rounds of the 62nd Annual National Moot Court Competition.

Seton Hall University School of Law, represented by Gianna Cricco-Lizza and Yalda Haery, took second-place honors in the competition that took place November 16–17 at the New York City Bar Association. Both teams advance and will join 28 other winning and runner-up teams from 15 regions across the United States to compete in the final rounds of the competition, January 30–February 2, at the City Bar.

Best Brief honors also went to the Hofstra team. Runner-up Brief was awarded to St. John’s University School of Law, whose team consisted of Brian McLaughlin, William Menard and Rebecca Rose. Best Oralist was awarded to Melissa Danowski of Hofstra, with runner-up honors going to Jesse Goldberg, also of Hofstra.

This year’s National Moot Court Competition presented two issues not yet decided by the United States Supreme Court. The first issue implicated the First Amendment and considered the extent to which a public school may punish a student for internet speech that takes place outside of the school. The second issue was an e-discovery issue and considered whether a court can give an adverse inference based on negligent spoliation of evidence.

The competition is co-sponsored by the American College of Trial Lawyers and the Young Lawyers Committee of the New York City Bar Association.