Attention: open in a new window. PrintE-mail



Eric Friedman
(212) 382-6754

Kathryn Inman
(212) 382-6656

Texas Tech School of Law Wins National Moot Court Competition

New York, February 3, 2012 – The Texas Tech University School of Law won the final round of the 62nd Annual National Moot Court Competition, held last night at the New York City Bar Association. The winning team was comprised of Brandon Beck, Allie Hallmark, and Elizabeth Hall. The University of California, Berkeley, School of Law was the runner-up team, comprised of Sean McTigue, Rachel Schwartz, and Grace Yang.

Best Brief honors also went to Texas Tech School of Law, with Runner Up Best Brief awarded to Regent University School of Law: Tristen R. Cramer, Megan R. Donley and Amy K. Vitale.

Best Individual Speaker went to Grace Yang of University of California, Berkeley, School of Law, with Runner-Up Best Individual Speaker going to Allie Hallmark of Texas Tech University School of Law.

The final round was judged by: Jane R. Roth, Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit; Raymond J. Lohier, Jr., Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit; Rosalyn H. Richter, New York State Supreme Court Justice, Appellate Division, First Department; Paul G. Gardephe, United States District Court Judge, Southern District of New York; William F. Kuntz, II, United States District Court Judge, Eastern District of New York; Thomas H. Tongue, President, American College of Trial Lawyers; and Samuel W. Seymour, President, New York City Bar Association.

The final argument of the Competition was the culmination of more than six months of preparation and arguments by more than 191 teams from over 128 law schools in every geographical area of the country competing at the regional and national levels.

The Competition is co-sponsored by the American College of Trial Lawyers and the Young Lawyers Committee of the New York City Bar, Angela R. Vicari, Chair.

About the Association
The New York City Bar Association (, since its founding in 1870, has been dedicated to maintaining the high ethical standards of the profession, promoting reform of the law and providing service to the profession and the public. The Association continues to work for political, legal and social reform, while implementing innovative means to help the disadvantaged. Protecting the public’s welfare remains one of the Association’s highest priorities.